11 Comments
Aug 21, 2022Liked by David Dark

Back Sept 3 or so

Expand full comment

Rob was Dave's guitar tech for that night and my son Dillon was the drum tech--haha! Great show! Over the Rhine was stunning@

Expand full comment
Aug 21, 2022Liked by David Dark

David,

I didn’t know of your connection with Steve Stockman, a friend of mine as well.

Let’s break donuts.

xp

Expand full comment

Loved every word of this and the stellar interview. I didn't have a clue what I was really doing or listening to, back in those days, but I somehow purchased CG's album (having been a Steve Taylor fan) and now I feel a bit retrospectively cool.

"Who puts a Paper Mate pen in a song? Chagall Guevara, that’s who." Pure gold.

Expand full comment

what a great piece! Ahh, the Nashville Nexus, I too have been caught up in it with these guys! I actually met Dave before my husband Rob (who went on to do some nyc dates with the DP Band in the 80s) when he asked me to sing back up for him along with Gary Pigg at a band booking event in North Carolina. We became good friends with Dave and Sue and their "young kids" when we had no idea what to do with a child... When Rob was a CCM artist and we would go to the networking events, we were befriended by Steve and Deb Taylor as well as well as Jim and Kim Thomas and Lynn and Kathy Nichols. I worked with Steve and Ben Pearson for several years doing makeup/hair on many of their christian music videos and also photo shoots with Steve as an artist. Fleming and John was another video project I worked on. Rich Mullins was a fav or Ben's and visa-versa. We also do so many sessions with Michael W. I used to hold him in high regard..... Jimmy became part of my world then as I worked with him on photo shoots as well as his collaborations with Ben Pearson. It was a very rich time in my life and I am so grateful for these connections. I am still amazed that Nashville was and still is sometimes a very small town. Thanks for this!

Expand full comment

So cool. Started listening to Steve Taylor in mid 1980s. Dave Perkins has had great solo work. The Ben Folds video is priceless. I'm a big Ben Folds fan. And speaking of Nashville nexus, I may be in town in mid to late fall to see how Jim Becker is doing. Would love to break donuts or just say hello

Expand full comment

I've always wanted to visit Murfreesboro to see my high school first hand!

Expand full comment
Aug 22, 2022·edited Aug 22, 2022

This is so exceptional. How to summarize The Nashville Nexus, in which I am far less embedded than you—from my peripheral angle, it looks to me like Seeking with Uncertainty from many directions, but not being afraid to love despite the lack of a sure path, so it is therefore very brave. Lynne

Expand full comment

Well David you talked about people I never heard about. I started listening to one of the songs, and was Sad, because I could not understand a word.

I guess you would have to know the words. I do know who James Carrey is, and never went to any of his movies.

I am 88 years old, so you have introduced me to a whole new world to me.

Let me ask are you familiar with the music of Frank Sinatra, Nate King Cole, etc. You can understand every word they sing.

I guess you would call me out of touch.

Religiously do you know Robert McAfee Brown. I knew him, and he is one of my heroes.

It would be an interesting conversation to get us together.

I am catching up by listening to Dianna Butler Bass, Brian McLaren, John Dominic Crossan , Marcus Borg. It is refreshing to hear the spin on their Theology and Bibical scholarship. I have met all of them, and I am excited about what I am learning from them.

Keep on keeping on, this OLD Lady is listening

Bette MULLEY

marywmulley@gmail.com

Expand full comment